My Trans Mongolian Railtrip

Farewell China

Tomorrow morning at 6.45am we depart Beijing for a 30 hour train ride to the Mongolian capital Ulaanbaator. I am looking forward to getting away from this humid city. Despite the humidity, Beijing is an amazing city! It is old and yet new, ancient yet modern. There are many structures that date back to several centuries and yet there are as many modern buildings, some the defy logic such as this one, the CCTV Building.

Despite the population and the density of the city, what I found really interesting was that, I never saw one graffiti anywhere in Beijing. There were hardly any litter on the streets. Another peculiar thing is that I hardly found any stray dogs, even in the outskirts of the city. There is so much green in Beijing. There are ample parks and trees planted everywhere. China is not an expensive city for tourists. Transportation is relatively cheap, food is ridiculously cheap and absolutely delicious. Entrance to most places are also relatively cheap.

I will definitely be back to Beijing and this time with Vera and hopefully we can go find her ancestor’s place of origin while we are here.

After leaving Beijing, I am not sure what access to internet I may have, so it may be awhile before I can post anything.

One response

  1. brent stringer

    Hey shagen,

    Sounds like you are having a great time.

    Yes why would you go to a gym when you could work out on the great wall. A friend of mine that used to work for DOC, Grantham actaully participated in a Marathon on the great wall

    Cant wait to hear about Mongolia!

    Happy travels
    Brent

    June 1, 2011 at 11:07 am

Leave a comment